Iceland: Day 6.

Day Six; You can never have too many photos of icebergs

Waking up to the Jökusarlon glacial lagoon was for lack of a better word, magical. There was us and about 6 other camper vans who had chosen this beautiful place as our spot. We woke up to a heavy fog pressing on the lagoon from above and it showed no signs of lifting, these weren’t the conditions that I had in mind when I was looking to photograph this area, but one thing I had learned on this trip is that you get what you’re given. The outcome was great, I got a few time lapse videos and was pretty happy.

fullsizeoutput_1825fullsizeoutput_182b

I then decided to head along the beach with my camera and tripod, just to see if I could make out a few of the more blue icebergs through the fog. Walking along the beach with my tripod in hand I spotted a small iceberg going against the current, double take and I focused in on a harbour seal… It was the most fantastic of moments. This little guy swam alongside me, looked straight at me, snorted and then dived down into the deep. I was almost far to flustered to take a photo of him, thankfully, I managed to get three.

fullsizeoutput_1828fullsizeoutput_1829fullsizeoutput_182cfullsizeoutput_1839

It was about time for some sustenance, we were joined by a couple of Spanish guys who were living in their car for a month, I think they were pretty happy to get a cooked breakfast, a cup of tea and some conversation from new people. Eggy bread and some beans certainly did the trick for me anyway, especially after struggling to get some decent images in the heavy fog.

fullsizeoutput_1820.jpeg

Next stop was just across the road to the diamond beach. Huge boulders of ice nestling on black volcanic sand with Atlantic waves crashing over, just incredible. Safe to say I stayed longer than the normal tourist, with a time lapse on my GoPro and getting to play around with the settings on my camera, I was in my element. Except for one small instance of almost losing my GoPro to the Atlantic waves and getting my foot soaked in the process of saving it’s life, it was a near flawless morning. An additional entertainment was watching some of the more mainstream tourists posing for photos on the ice, only to be soaked by the crashing waves moments later.

fullsizeoutput_1877fullsizeoutput_187ffullsizeoutput_1891fullsizeoutput_1894

A two an a bit hour drive, with a couple of stops for moss photos, and we were at our next location of Seljlavellir, the hidden hot pool. Built in 1923 this swimming pool, complete with unisex changing rooms, is one of Iceland’s hidden treasures. What they don’t tell you in the guide book though, is that the pool is blooming freezing! Okay, its maybe not as cold as the river running next to it, but it’s still pretty damn cold. Afterwards our house on wheels was looking like a shanti town with all of our waterlogged clothes hanging from all of the hooks and latches available in the motorhome.

14753819_10154784519471042_1467020467770794161_o14883436_10154784519701042_3957390018750318821_o

From there it was onto the next place, Seljalandsfoss (one of the most photographed waterfalls in Iceland), where we thought we could park up for the night. Unfortunately, this wasn’t the case, with signs all around the car park stating that there was no overnight parking allowed it put us off staying there. Instead we ventured down to the campsite near the waterfall for some advice… “What you’ve been doing is illegal” we were told by the lady at the reception, apparently we have to be stuck in a campsite and pay for the luxury … oh right. Safe to say we drove away from that area and instead parked up at an old harbour, overlooking the tiny island of Vestmannaeyjar. Six days in and we’d managed to avoid paying for a pitch each night, we weren’t about to change that now.

fullsizeoutput_18e8fullsizeoutput_18ecfullsizeoutput_18ef

Leave a Reply

